

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

MEDIA RELEASE

July 6th, 2017

Public Service Commission Promotes Twenty-five Senior Public Officers

On Friday 30th June, 2017, the Public Service Commission (PSC) hosted a ceremony to distribute letters of promotion to ten (10) public officers to the post of Permanent Secretary and fifteen (15) public officers to the post of Deputy Permanent Secretary.

Ms. Maureen Manchouck, PSC Chairman, opened the ceremony by thanking PS Sandra Jones, Head of the Public Service, for her assistance in expediting the consultation process with the Honourable Prime Minister, which led to a quick clearing of a longstanding backlog of the Commission's recommendations for appointments/promotions.

The newly promoted PSs not only received letters of promotion but were also re-introduced to letters of delegation along with an accountability framework, which set out the parameters for exercising their delegated powers and the requirements for discharging their duties. The PSC Chairman also reminded PSs that the hiring of peculiar positions in some of the Ministries was not a delegated function but in accordance with Regulations 13(5-7) and 16(3-6) and that all appointments were still to be made by the PSC.

In addressing the DPSs being promoted, Ms. Manchouck acknowledged their requests for training and mentoring and was happy to report that a programme was already being formulated at the Ministry of Public Administration and Communications to treat with the matter.



PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

The PSC Chair reiterated the Commission's support of the long-term vision for the PSC to be largely monitoring and oversight, which came out of the Deloitte-IPAC (Institute of Public Administration of Canada) Institutional Strengthening exercise at the Service Commissions Department (SCD). All PSs and DPSs present were recognized for the critical role they played in assisting the PSC in fulfilling its mandate and were further encouraged to cooperate and support the new vision while improving some of their necessary functions, which included:

- 1. Timely recommendations for filling of vacancies in accordance with the Regulations
- 2. Timely submission and proper completion of performance appraisals
- 3. Succession planning
- 4. Improved knowledge of regulations

Amongst those promoted to the posts of PS and DPS were:

Promoted to Permanent Secretary:

Name	Ministry
Ms. Angela Siew	Agriculture, Land and Fisheries
Ms. Ingrid Seerattan	Attorney General and Legal Affairs
Ms. Angela Leonard-Edwards	Community Development, Culture and the Arts
Ms. Suzette Taylor Lee-Chee	Finance
Ms. Jennifer Daniel	Foreign and CARICOM Affairs
Mr. Vel Lewis	National Security
Ms. Lydia Jacobs	National Security
Mrs. Joanne Deoraj	Planning and Development
Mr. Norris Herbert	Trade and Industry
Ms. Jacqueline Johnson	Office of the Prime Minister



PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Promoted to Deputy Permanent Secretary:

Name	Ministry
Ms. Susan Shurland	Community Development, Culture and the Arts
Mr. Kurt Meyer	Education
Mrs. Penelope Bradshaw-Niles	Energy and Energy Industries
Jenneifer Lutchman	Finance
Ms. Reita Toussaint	Foreign and CARICOM Affairs
Ms. Nicolette Duke	Health
Ms. Natalie Willis	Labour and Small Enterprise Development
Ms. Ayleen Alleyne-Ovid	Planning and Development
Mr. Claudelle Mc Kellar	Public Administration and Communications
Mr. Gary Josheph	Public Utilities
Mr. Asif Ali	Social Development and Family Services
Mrs. Sonia Francis-Yearwood	Works and Transport
Mr. Farook Hosein	Works and Transport
Ms. Sandra Fraser	Office of the Prime Minister
Mrs. Azizah Baksh-Buckredee	Office of the Prime Minister

The Public Service Commission congratulates all promoted officers.

###

Contact Information:

Public Service Commission

Communications Unit

1st Floor, DFL Building

Cipriani Blvd, POS

Email: <u>ServiceCommCommunications@gov.tt</u>